Can guests leave or join a cruise at a different Australian port?

A number of Australian ports are classified by the Australian Government as being non-proclaimed, which means that, even on domestic itineraries, guests cannot join or leave a cruise in these ports.

These ports are classed as non-proclaimed:

  • Airlie Beach
  • Busselton
  • Cooktown
  • Eden
  • Fraser Island
  • Gladstone
  • Hamilton Island
  • Kangaroo Island
  • Kimberly
  • Mooloolaba
  • Moreton Island
  • Mornington Peninsular
  • Phillip Island
  • Port Arthur
  • Port Douglas.


In line with strict Government regulations, it is not possible for any guest or crew member to permanently disembark the ship and leave a cruise in a non-proclaimed port. All guests are of course welcome to go ashore and enjoy all there is to offer at a non-proclaimed port. However they must return to the ship by the All Onboard time indicated at the gangway.

In the unlikely event that a guest did not return to the ship in a non proclaimed port, the guest could be subject to pay a large monetary fine.

This information is covered in the P&O Booking & Travel conditions.